Have a Wonderful Stay with Country Cottage Holiday :)  

Review for The Boathouse


Show scores of:
All reviewers 64
: 8
: 4
: 7
: 14
: 31
Furnishings and Equipment:
9.02
Location:
9.67
Cleanliness:
9.31
Overall Service from Country Cottage Holiday:
9.47
Overall value for money:
9.00




9.29
Ground Floor Accommodation Double Bedroom: Light airy comfortable room, with king size bed and ample hanging space and drawer space. The wide window sill runs the full length of the room and looks over the veranda to the Goose burn, with the lake over to the left hand side. Ensuite Shower Room: Electric power shower, wash hand basin and WC and heated towel rail. Dining Kitchen: The open plan dining room has table and six chairs and door which lead out to the deck with stunning views over the lake. The kitchen is fully equipped with fridge, freezer, microwave oven, electric oven and hob, kettle, toaster, dishwasher, washer/dryer. A steep spiral staircase gives access to the Upper Floor Lounge: The spacious lounge boasts an original fireplace with hearth tiles, which are now over 100 years old and the dual aspect windows gives the room so much light. Flat Screen TV with Freeview, DVD, CD and radio. A door from the lounge, gives access onto the high level covered balcony which runs along the front and down the side of the lounge area. A second door gives access to the Master Bedroom: Light and airy with king size bed and ample hanging space and drawer space. A door leads onto the covered balcony and a casement window with deep sill looking out over the lake to the Douglas pines beyond the dam wall. Ensuite Bathroom: Bath, separate shower cubicle, wash hand basin and WC and heated towel rail. Outdoors: Covered upper balcony, ground floor decking area with timber garden furniture views overlooking the lake and ample car parking. Caution: Due to the proximity of the lake, the high level balcony and the steep spiral staircase which gives access to the Living Room on the upper floor, we ask our guests to take extra care when staying in The Boathouse. Please note: Gardens/Outside areas not necessarily dog proof, even if fenced/walled. Please keep your dogs under control, especially near farm animals.

Result Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ]  [ 1 - 10 of 64 results ]

  Individual Guest Reviews
D. M.







, United Kingdom









11 Sep, 2021
 
Furnishings and Equipment:
6.00
Location:
10.00
Cleanliness:
10.00
Overall Service from Country Cottage Holiday:
8.00
8.50
was this
review useful?
We absolutely love the Boat House - this our 4th time. We have marked you down on some aspects because of the COVID restrictions you still have in place. Not enough kitchen equipment meant more use of the dishwasher. I am more concerned about climate change than COVID so didn’t like that. No curtain tie backs? Really ? I know it is silly , but the small touches like a welcome pack, flowers, tissues and toiletries make a big difference - which is presumably why you used to prove these prior to COVID. Sorry for the rant but being remind about COVID-19 when you can’t find a spatula or want a cushion for the garden furniture is annoying.
Remove unnecessary COVID changes. Perhaps improve maintenance of the outside seating area.
F. M.







, United Kingdom









04 Sep, 2021
 
Furnishings and Equipment:
9.00
Location:
10.00
Cleanliness:
9.00
Overall Service from Country Cottage Holiday:
10.00
9.50
was this
review useful?
Location, lodge well set out
more glasses, freezer defrosted, a bit cleaner (attention to detail)
U. G.







, United Kingdom









28 Aug, 2021
 
Furnishings and Equipment:
8.00
Location:
10.00
Cleanliness:
10.00
Overall Service from Country Cottage Holiday:
10.00
9.50
was this
review useful?
Most beautiful location and beautiful house. Lovely to hear the running waters at night. Thanks so much also for sorting out the Sky box and bathroom issues so quickly.
Could do with some kitchen scales & smaller wine glasses; the big ones are lovely but impossible to put in the dishwasher. Re the Wifi, it kept cutting out, and would come back on after re-booting the router. The router is old, so I would suggest getting a new one from BT. The other option is 'mobile wifi' Mifi. The Three mobile broadband network is faster at Roskill Farm than their BT landline, and cheaper. Or there might be another provider.
S. C.







, United Kingdom









07 Aug, 2021
 
Furnishings and Equipment:
6.00
Location:
8.00
Cleanliness:
7.00
Overall Service from Country Cottage Holiday:
8.00
7.25
was this
review useful?
The wasps nests were dealt with very quickly.
I have been 4 times already to the Boat house. I would say after all this time it would be nice to have a more modern TV with decent channels to watch. Also a more comfortable chair to sit in downstairs in the kitchen. I have always sat up on the upstairs balcony in the past which if the weather was bad was an outlet. This time I felt it was quite dirty and dusty - for example I did want to put my bag down on the floor. I always love my visits to the Boat house and I did have a brilliant holiday but this year felt it could have been improved a little.
D. K.







, United Kingdom









24 Jul, 2021
 
Furnishings and Equipment:
9.00
Location:
10.00
Cleanliness:
10.00
Overall Service from Country Cottage Holiday:
10.00
9.75
was this
review useful?
The property is 'quirky' and situated in a very beautiful and peaceful location on a well maintained estate. There are lots of great walks available from the doorstep - around the estate and to the surrounding villages and beyond,
There was no Freeview signal being received by the television (apparently this has happened before) but this in no way detracted or spoilt the holiday as it was far too nice to spend time indoors.
D. M.







, United Kingdom









10 Jul, 2021
 
Furnishings and Equipment:
10.00
Location:
10.00
Cleanliness:
10.00
Overall Service from Country Cottage Holiday:
10.00
10.00
was this
review useful?
Another fabulous holiday at the Boathouse. Perfectly tranquil, immaculate and really comfy beds and pillows! Home from home. Beautiful walks around the estate and through the woods. Fantastic beaches at Rosemarkie and Nairn. Allangrange Arms nearby serve fantastic food. Sincere thanks.
It was a pity there was no satellite signal as we would've liked to have watched a bit of the Euros! Perhaps for our next stay Highland Council would have the infrastructure to uplift food waste. With thanks.
B. M.







, United Kingdom









26 Jun, 2021
 
Furnishings and Equipment:
7.00
Location:
10.00
Cleanliness:
10.00
Overall Service from Country Cottage Holiday:
10.00
9.25
was this
review useful?
Great quiet location and peace . Apart from people who have started to walk around the estate and now come and have a look at building although it says private no entry . Other than that is was fantastic stay and thank you
All good and good quality just a couple of points to know as potential for future . One wall light was hanging loose in one of the rooms and I have been going to this accom many years and the settee has been the same all those years and it’s still just as uncomfortable as ever would be nice one day for it to be updated.
A. D.







, United Kingdom









19 Jun, 2021
 
Furnishings and Equipment:
10.00
Location:
10.00
Cleanliness:
10.00
Overall Service from Country Cottage Holiday:
10.00
10.00
was this
review useful?
The setting and privacy were both brilliant. It was perfect for the first week of our honeymoon!! It was lovely to sit up in bed on a morning and see the lochan. One morning we saw a deer near the water. The dogs had a great time.
Part of the rail on the slope entrance to the cottage is very loose otherwise all was perfect.
N. V.







, United Kingdom









22 May, 2021
 
Furnishings and Equipment:
9.00
Location:
10.00
Cleanliness:
10.00
Overall Service from Country Cottage Holiday:
10.00
9.75
was this
review useful?
A fabulous location with plenty of character and peace and quiet. A great location for exploring the Black Isle and beyond. Our second visit to the estate and certainly not our last.
All spotlessly clean, and in good order. Would have liked a couple of extra kitchen implements- potato masher, tongs, small sharp knives. Communication and information timely, informative and straightforward. Many thanks.
S. C.







, United Kingdom









08 May, 2021
 
Furnishings and Equipment:
10.00
Location:
10.00
Cleanliness:
10.00
Overall Service from Country Cottage Holiday:
10.00
10.00
was this
review useful?
We had a fantastic time at this lovely house. It was very clean, warm, cosy and very well equipped with everything we needed. Had all weathers from loads of snow to warm sunshine and all in between! The situation of the house was good with lots of walks and cycle rides from the door.
The radiator in the upstairs bathroom does not come on and we think perhaps the radiators as a whole need to be bled as it might be air in the system. Apart from this everything was great.

Result Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ]  [ 1 - 10 of 64 results ]
 
Cancellation policy: The holidaymaker is liable for the total hire charge unless written notice of the intention to cancel the booking is received at least eight weeks prior to the commencement of the holiday. The deposit paid to confirm the booking, and other monies paid, will only be refunded if the Owner is able to re-let the holiday cottage for the period of the holiday let. In the event of re-letting the Owner will retain the sum of 100GBP to cover administrative costs and (subject to deduction of that sum) refund to the holidaymaker the balance of monies received from the holidaymaker or the sum received from re-letting whichever sum shall be the lower. Every effort will be made to re-let a cancelled booking, but the holidaymaker is advised to take out holiday insurance to cover that eventuality. Extenuating circumstances policy in the context of Covid-19: If government imposed Covid-19 restrictions prevent you travelling to your booked holiday cottage and/or disallows us from having you stay in our holiday cottage, we will either change your booking to another date or refund you in full. Please make sure your travel insurance covers cancellations in any other situation. For Covid-19 updates: www.gov.uk/coronavirus (England) and https://www.gov.scot/coronavirus-covid-19/ (Scotland)
Terms and Conditions: By making a booking you confirm that you have read and comply with our Terms and Conditions